Malevolent Forces Suspected in the Disappearance of Report

by V Rose Dahrke

It’s gone.  It’s just gone.  That little bit of work that took me so damn long is gone.

It was only three pages, really, and I know that doesn’t seem like a great deal, but it was.  It really, truly was.  This past summer I was really humming along, writing-wise; I was doing at least 500 words a night, close to a grand if I had a draft of the particular portion I was working on done already, and fifteen hundred and up if I had both a draft and a bottle of rum.  I was still doing relatively well during the fall, but around December my motivation started to trail off.  I’ve been stuck at 235 pages for a very long time now.  Those three pages were the most I had done in a single night in probably two months. 

I suppose I’ll tell you more about…well, everything, tomorrow.  I can only really write at night, and it would seem that I have a bit of work to do.  Sitting around sighing won’t do me much good.

