The Beginning Redux

Now that I have a little more time, I supposed I should actually start this properly.  As I was saying before everything fell apart, I started this blog because I am currently in the process of writing a novel and I was told this might help me break out of my writer’s block.  I had also noticed that the journal portion of my deviantArt page was being taken over by my thoughts on work that I wasn’t posting there. 

My original intent was to restrict my posts here to my thoughts on and problems with working on this book, as I did with my deviantArt page and my poetry, but I realized today that might get a little boring and, considering how well restriciting myself like that has worked so far, is probably unreasonable.  Besides, the rest of my life does leak into my efforts of creativity; it’s really not preventable.

So, time for an introduction, I guess.  I don’t really know what to tell you, though.  I’m between names at the moment, and I really don’t know that I intend to publish under either one.  I feel dishonest for not telling you something, though.  My name is Vic.  I can give you that much.

As I was saying before, I currently have 235 pages of a fantasy novel that is, at least for now, titled Descent.  The story behind the story is this: a couple of years ago I had an odd nightmare which I thought at the time would make a decent short story.  I wrote about three pages, got stuck, and abandoned it.  Two weeks later, I had my wisdom teeth, which were badly impacted,  removed and spent five days in a memory-less haze of percocet.  When I came back down to earth, I had a vague recollection of writing while medicated and decided to dig through my hard drive to find whatever it was I had come up with.  What I found was a forty-page rough draft for a much, much longer story.

This was a little over two years ago.  I don’t have much further to go; there are a few scenes that I’ve decided to add to the early chapters and the end needs to be wrapped up, but I know where I’m going. It’s getting there that’s my problem.

Well, I guess that’s enough of an introduction for now.  We’ll see how the rest of this goes.