A Friendly Reminder

by V Rose Dahrke

If any of you are also writers, be sure to have an external hard drive.  If you don’t have one now, go get one.
Last night, while attempting to fix an old Royal typewriter which Pat bought me, I was looking for schematics online and managed to catch something that my security system could not handle.  Windows had to be reinstalled.  Had I not been backing everything up on an external for the past few months, I would have lost all three hundred pages of Descent.

Again, three hundred.  Three hundred.

Now, I know some of you will say “Just get a Mac; they never get viruses”.  My response to that is:
1:  I can’t use a Mac.  People say that they’re much more user-friendly; what they fail to keep in mind is that all operating systems are intended to be friendly to the people likely to use them.  Certain systems make more sense to one person than another.
It’s not that I’m great with Windows.  That’s not it at all.
In the campus library, I once sat down at one of the four Macs to print a paper.  It took me twenty minutes, and the only way that I managed to do so was by finding a different computer.  The thing was near impossible to work; nothing was in a place that made any sense to me at all.

2: No one who uses a Mac has anything on their computer worth the effort it would take to write a virus to steal it.

I’m sorry, that was catty.

Oh, who am I kidding.  I don’t know any Mac users.

