I’m Getting Too Old For This Shit

by V Rose Dahrke

I couldn’t think of anything else to title this, so I decided to go with my husband’s catchphrase.

He’s 20, by the way.

It’s summer in Colorado, which means that there is now a thunderstorm every night. I like thunderstorms. I do not like low barometric pressure and moisture.

I’ve had carpal tunnel syndrome for about six or seven years now, and both medial epicondylitis and lateral epicondylitis in not one but both arms for nearly as long. For the layman: my joints hurt. They hurt all the time.

They hurt most when it rains.

Combine this with sewing (I have no craft room or work table, so I end up hunched over cross-legged on the floor for hours at a time) and “my joints hurt” becomes “my everything hurts”.

Fortunately, I finally managed to redo that bodice that I botched the other night.

Unfortunately, I haven’t been writing. I now have an hour before bed. Let’s see if I can make some magic.

