An Understanding

by Cooper Young

I hardly want this to turn into a pity-party or worse the one thing a blog should never be: a public diary.  However, let’s face facts: I’m twenty-two and have written one novel which no one has ever seen.  They say one should blog about what one knows, and I know just about nothing.

So many writers’ blogs I’ve read lately are long columns of advice and help.  I don’t have any to give;  at best I can sometimes offer my mistakes, usually before I’ve even had a chance to learn from them.  They speak of “we writers”.  I don’t know “we” yet.  Forgive me if I avoid the second person altogether, at least until I begin to understand that word.

I say all this because, having none of that to say to begin with and having run out of things to say about Descent, I seem to have had little to say at all over the past week or so.  I need to get going on Edorathis, that’s really all there is to it.  Inactivity does me little good.  I feel my brain getting fat and lazy already.

I have been doing a bit of planning, of course; I can hardly stop thinking entirely.  My concern of late has been over whether or not to add a romantic element to the plot.  Strange though this may seem, I’ve decided on both yes and no.  There will be love, yes, but not a traditional romance.  The characters involved, Nazarel the poisoned queen and her father’s scribe Veritane,  will not spend more than ten minutes in the same room throughout the book, but she will rally an army of her own enemies to save her last loyal subject and he, seeing the force marching on Edorathis and unknowing of their leader, will fight his way from his prison cell to stand  with his jailers in defense of her city.  Theirs will be a romance without affection, a love between people not in love.

What is love but aggravated loyalty, anyway?

