NaNoWriMo Update #1: Holy Shit Youse Guys

by Cooper Young

For months now I’ve been wrestling with something hugely important to the plot of my next novel: how to reveal something huge about a major character’s identity. My instinct was to go the “Luke, I am your father” route: big situation, big bomb-dropping line, big reaction. Let’s face it, you don’t hide something for half a book just to mention it casually. You want to melt some faces with your awesometude, and rightly so. Hiding crap from your readers is hard. Really hard. Especially if you’re a terrible liar like me.

Tonight, however, I came to the realization that a simple reveal can be just as shattering as a hugely staged one. Will this involve said character making a mad dash through an enemy city carrying his bleeding child and revealing his identity to claim sanctuary? No. Will it involve him throwing his ex-wife’s new husband into a bottomless pit? No, though that will still happen, ’cause dude was a dick. Will it involve him telling the ghost possessing his son to put the gun down? No.

Let’s put it this way: the bomb-dropping line is just going to be “She liked that lamp.”

