Tuesday Questions: It Begins…

by Cooper Young

Though I’ve given up everything but telling stories on this blog, I continue to be fascinated by the searches that lead people to it. Yes, WordPress tells me how you got here. You know how it is. Anyway, most of these searches are questions and I usually end up telling my screen the answers even if I don’t have my dictation software on. I figure it might be more productive if I actually try to tell them to people. I probably should ignore them because answering them will only bring me related traffic, but I can’t help it. I see this thing, and I have to poke it. I have to.

So, without further exposition here are the questions Google thought I could answer this week. For added fun, I’ve left them unedited.

what is the piercing on top of your ear called

I’m pretty sure what you’re talking about is a helix. Most people just call it a “cartilage piercing”, but as any ear piercing that isn’t on your lobe technically goes through cartilage (with the exception of the vertical tragus, which, though near the ear, is technically a surface piercing) that term is, to put it generously, a bit vague. If you’re talking about a long bar connecting a helix to an anti-helix (a piercing where the top of your ear begins to curve down toward your head), that’s an industrial. I’m pretty sure it’s called a scaffold in the UK.

“keeps ending up here”

Can I buy a noun?

can i reinsert my microdermal

Not on your own, certainly. Not unless you’re qualified to insert them in others, anyway. If what you mean is “can it be reinserted”, then yes. It’s my understanding (I had one reinserted myself) that it’s not usually advised to do it in the exact same spot due to  issues with scar tissue. If it rejected, there’s a good chance that wasn’t the best place for it anyway. For example, I had mine (which rejected) put in about two inches lower than its original position. It’s done better there. Note: I am a writer, folks. Talk to someone who does this for a living and if they say different listen to them, not me. I barely know what I’m doing at my own job.

